The Pentomino Challenge

I can’t resist putting a little math in the Science blog.  They are great friends after all.  Today in our last 15 minutes of math Will completed the Pentomino Challenge, the first of all my students to do so (this includes me- I’ve never been able to do it).  Pentominoes are shapes composed of 5 square units in a set of 12 pieces with a total of 60 square units.  The challenge is to make a 6 by 10 rectangle with the 12, 5 unit shapes and it is quite difficult!  To encourage all other pentominoes challengers I will not publish the successful rectangle picture- though I do have one as proof.  Below are other shapes created by math students.  Congratulations Will!

 

 

One thought on “The Pentomino Challenge

  1. Pingback: Ms. Still’s Blog and Congrats to Will! « Grade 5 News Blog

Comments are closed.